My love don’t cost a thing; but the Xmas dinner does!

I recently had a row with someone who was insistent that I should be cooking meat at Christmas. Said person was not coming for Christmas dinner, or any other dinner for that matter, so not sure what concern it was of theirs. I pointed out that preparing food takes time, energy, money, care so there was no way that I’d be told that’s not quite good enough and I should delivering meat too.

Interestingly, my sister, who is a meat eater, and would be joining for Christmas dinner, described me as her saviour for taking care of the food shopping. For her not having to worry about traipsing around the shops, or bearing the financial cost, far outweighed the need to be served meat.

My mum, another meat eater, is prepared to sacrifice it as long as she does not have to be involved in the cooking. She’s no one’s fool and has no interest in slaving away in the kitchen.

Food has meaning, it is political, symbolic, a form of communication. And, despite any differences, unites us all. Had I not regifted Christmas cookies to a woman begging on the street, the likelihood is that I would have pretended not to have seen her. A side effect of turning vegan has been my offering surplus food to others less fortunate, who lack the same autonomy over their food choices that I do. It is only the privileged who can afford to argue about what should or shouldn’t be served on their plates.

There is a value to food which is not simply monetary, so this Christmas I will continue to predominantly prepare food which would otherwise have been wasted. I will share what I can spare with the needy. I’ll welcome the opportunity to cook with my sister, try new foods, recipes, spend time with family, find out which vegan joints my niece has been hitting up. And, the only animal on the table will be Tigger; what can I say the cat is a law upon himself!

These are the foods that I have planned for the big day:-

    Seitan Wellington; I’ll be making this from scratch for the first time! It’s been on my to do list for a while. The gluten flour was full price but the chickpea flour that I’ll be adding was reduced to clear, yellow sticker, as is the shortcrust pastry. The recipe calls for puff pastry but my sister says pastry is pastry.
    Roast potatoes; I collected a free bag using food sharing app Olio.
    Roast pumpkin; a new addition to Christmas. I still have loads chopped in the freezer having had 4 this year from Andy’s allotment.
    Parsnips, Sprouts, Carrots; all yellow stickers. I’ve been buying as and when I see them and keeping them in the fridge.
    I stored a box of fresh yellow sticker cranberries in the freezer weeks ago so will be making cranberry sauce.
    My sister is insisting on making a nut roast because she likes it.
    Bisto gravy, because who doesn’t have at least 4 tubs in their cupboards.
    Accidentally vegan, yellow sticker Tesco bakery mince pies which I’ve stored in the freezer
    Tesco Wicked Kitchen, yellow sticker, pineapple dream cake. Instructions read not suitable for freezing; I’ve done it anyway.
    Healthy chocolate truffles which I made in a vegan Christmas cookery class back in November but have stored especially.
    Biscuits made in a different Christmas cookery class at a community college which again I’ve been keeping.
    Carrs Table Water crackers, accidentally vegan, and from a friend’s cupboard clear out.
    Red sticker, the reduced stickers are red in Holland & Barrett, Mozzarella style vegan cheese at 12p a pack! They were marked down to £1.20, I asked the shop assistant whether any more would be taken off and they took another 90% as use by date was following day (22/12); I’ll keep them in fridge till Xmas day. Just goes to show it pays to ask!
    Selection of fruit and nuts; either yellow sticker or free from Olio
    Alcohol, others will be bringing, including a bottle of champagne that my mum bought at a car boot; now you know where I get it from!

I’ll share the final food pics on insta!

I hope you all have a wonderful day and I’d be interested to hear the value that you place on Xmas.

6 thoughts on “My love don’t cost a thing; but the Xmas dinner does!

  1. Such a lovely read an inspiration to others and just shows that anyone with an open mind can enjoy Christmas dinner , always look forward to your posts x

    Like

  2. You are amazing LJ, such an inspiration! I don’t know where you get the time from. Clearly my time management is rubbish! Have an amazing Xmas with your family & so looking forward to seeing you on Sunday 30th for dinner 🥘😘💕🎄🥂💖xx

    Like

  3. I loved reading this! Just shows you don’t have to spend a fortune on food at Christmss. I have a post about a cheap Christmas/roast dinner but it’s so great to see a vegan spin on it as a lot of people assume vegan means expensive…clearly not!xx

    Like

Leave a comment